close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Space Race and Beyond!

Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Apollo 11

2019-07-16 19:00:00 2019-07-16 21:00:00 America/New_York Space Race and Beyond! Post Road Library

Tuesday, July 16
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-07-16 19:00:00 2019-07-16 21:00:00 America/New_York Space Race and Beyond! Post Road Library

In 1969, half a century ago, mankind watched as humans stepped foot onto a celestial body other than the Earth for the first time. The tumultuous Space Race of the preceding decade challenged imaginations, rapidly advanced technologies, and captivated the world's attention. In the decades that followed the Apollo missions we have seen rovers sent to Mars and satellites sent to Jupiter, Saturn, their many moons, and far beyond. John Indergaard from University of North Georgia will give a brief historical context leading up to the Apollo 11 mission, discuss the technological advances that made it possible, describe some of the most fascinating findings of other unmanned exploratory missions, as well as consider the possibilities of human space travel to Mars and beyond.

John Indergaard is an alumnus of the Georgia Tech School of Physics, receiving his Master's Degree in 2015 while researching the electromagnetic properties of nanometer-scale metallic atom clusters. He is now the Lab Coordinator in the Physics Department at UNG Dahlonega, implementing curriculum changes to improve the teaching of experimental methods to introductory physics students. John's interest in science outreach has led him to leading public events at the Atlanta and Dahlonega Science Festivals.

Post Road Library

AskaLibrarian@forsythpl.org
Phone: 770-781-9840

Hours
Mon, Aug 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 23 10:00AM to 5:30PM
Sat, Aug 24 10:00AM to 5:30PM
Sun, Aug 25 1:30PM to 5:30PM

About The Library

Library Telephone:  770-781-9840

Automated Telephone Renewals:  770-781-9865

Other Branch Information

 

Upcoming Events

Sun, Aug 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Aug 27, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Aug 27, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Wed, Aug 28, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Wed, Aug 28, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Aug 30, 11:15am - 12:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Aug 30, 2:00pm - 3:45pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Aug 30, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Aug 31, 11:15am - 12:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 03, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 03, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 03, 11:00am - 11:30am
Post Road Meeting Room

Wed, Sep 04, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Thu, Sep 05, 10:15am - 11:00am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 05, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 05, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Sep 06, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Sep 07, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Sep 09, 10:30am - 11:30am
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Mon, Sep 09, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 10, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 10, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 10, 11:00am - 11:30am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 10, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Wed, Sep 11, 10:15am - 11:15am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 12, 10:15am - 11:00am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 12, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 12, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Sep 13, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Sep 14, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Sep 14, 1:15pm - 3:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sun, Sep 15, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Sep 16, 10:00am - 11:30am
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Sep 16, 2:00pm - 7:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 17, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 17, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 17, 11:00am - 11:30am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 17, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 17, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Sep 17, 7:30pm - 8:30pm

Wed, Sep 18, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Wed, Sep 18, 1:15pm - 3:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Wed, Sep 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 19, 10:15am - 11:00am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 19, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 19, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Sep 20, 10:00am - 11:00am
Poetry Garden

Fri, Sep 20, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Sep 21, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Sep 23, 10:30am - 11:30am
Post Road Meeting Room Side B