close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Space Race and Beyond!

Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Apollo 11

2019-07-16 19:00:00 2019-07-16 21:00:00 America/New_York Space Race and Beyond! Post Road Library

Tuesday, July 16
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-07-16 19:00:00 2019-07-16 21:00:00 America/New_York Space Race and Beyond! Post Road Library

In 1969, half a century ago, mankind watched as humans stepped foot onto a celestial body other than the Earth for the first time. The tumultuous Space Race of the preceding decade challenged imaginations, rapidly advanced technologies, and captivated the world's attention. In the decades that followed the Apollo missions we have seen rovers sent to Mars and satellites sent to Jupiter, Saturn, their many moons, and far beyond. John Indergaard from University of North Georgia will give a brief historical context leading up to the Apollo 11 mission, discuss the technological advances that made it possible, describe some of the most fascinating findings of other unmanned exploratory missions, as well as consider the possibilities of human space travel to Mars and beyond.

John Indergaard is an alumnus of the Georgia Tech School of Physics, receiving his Master's Degree in 2015 while researching the electromagnetic properties of nanometer-scale metallic atom clusters. He is now the Lab Coordinator in the Physics Department at UNG Dahlonega, implementing curriculum changes to improve the teaching of experimental methods to introductory physics students. John's interest in science outreach has led him to leading public events at the Atlanta and Dahlonega Science Festivals.

Post Road Library

AskaLibrarian@forsythpl.org
Phone: 770-781-9840

Hours
We're closed Monday January 20
Mon, Jan 20 Closed
(Closed for Martin Luther King Day)
Tue, Jan 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jan 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jan 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jan 24 10:00AM to 5:30PM
Sat, Jan 25 10:00AM to 5:30PM
Sun, Jan 26 1:30PM to 5:30PM

About The Library

Library Telephone:  770-781-9840

Automated Telephone Renewals:  770-781-9865

Other Branch Information

 

Upcoming Events

Tue, Jan 21, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 21, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 21, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 21, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 21, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot

Wed, Jan 22, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Wed, Jan 22, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Wed, Jan 22, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Hot Spot
This event is full

Thu, Jan 23, 10:15am - 10:50am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 23, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 23, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Jan 24, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Jan 25, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Jan 25, 1:15pm - 3:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Jan 25, 1:15pm - 3:15pm

Sun, Jan 26, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Jan 27, 2:00pm - 7:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Jan 27, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot
Registration is now closed

Tue, Jan 28, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 28, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 28, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Tue, Jan 28, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 28, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot

Wed, Jan 29, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room
This event is full

Thu, Jan 30, 10:15am - 10:50am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 30, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 30, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 30, 7:45pm - 8:30pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Jan 31, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Feb 01, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Feb 03, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot
Registration is now closed

Mon, Feb 03, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Feb 03, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 04, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 04, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 04, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 04, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot

Wed, Feb 05, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Wed, Feb 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room
This event is full

Thu, Feb 06, 10:15am - 10:50am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Feb 06, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Feb 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Feb 07, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Feb 08, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sun, Feb 09, 1:30pm - 5:30pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Feb 10, 2:00pm - 7:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Mon, Feb 10, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot
Registration is now closed

Tue, Feb 11, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 11, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 11, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 11, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot

Wed, Feb 12, 10:15am - 11:00am
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Wed, Feb 12, 1:15pm - 3:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Wed, Feb 12, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Post Road Hot Spot

Wed, Feb 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room
This event is full

Thu, Feb 13, 10:15am - 10:50am
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Feb 13, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Thu, Feb 13, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Fri, Feb 14, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sat, Feb 15, 11:15am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Sun, Feb 16, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 18, 9:15am - 9:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 18, 10:15am - 10:45am
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 18, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 18, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Wed, Feb 19, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Post Road Meeting Room Side B

Wed, Feb 19, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Post Road Meeting Room

Wed, Feb 19, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Post Road Hot Spot
This event is full